George C. Tilyou
(1862-1914) founded Coney Island’s Steeplechase Park, a leading attraction of its day and one of the most popular early amusement parks. Known as “The Funny Place,” the park featured its namesake horseracing ride, plus a swimming pool, carousel, Ferris wheel, and large indoor pavilion. The admission tickets shown above lists six rides for 50 cents, and they feature the iconic grinning face associated with Coney Island.
Other Green-Wood residents of Coney Island fame include amusement ride inventor and manufacturer William F. Mangels (1866-1958) and the restaurateur credited with the invention of the hot dog, Charles Feltman (1841-1910). Click the image to expand.