Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

1 p.m. Historic Trolley Tour

May 8, 2013, 1:00pm3:00pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

Green-Wood Trolley
Green-Wood Trolley

Experience the most magnificent and historic 478 acres in New York City. Join our expert tour guides to hear fascinating stories of Green-Wood’s permanent residents, see breathtaking views of Manhattan, tread where George Washington and his troops fought the Battle of Brooklyn, and much more.

Trolley Tour Schedule:

Wednesday, May 1: Discover Green-Wood
Wednesday, May 8: The Far Side of Green-Wood
Sunday, May 12: The Far Side of Green-Wood
Wednesday, May 15: Hidden Gems of Green-Wood
Wednesday, May 22: Discover Green-Wood
Sunday, May 26: Hidden Gems of Green-Wood
Wednesday, May 29: The Far Side of Green-Wood
Wednesday, June 5: Hidden Gems of Green-Wood
Sunday, June 9: Discover Green-Wood
Wednesday, June 12: Discover Green-Wood
Wednesday, June 19: The Far Side of Green-Wood
Wednesday, June 26: Hidden Gems of Green-Wood
Sunday, June 30: The Far Side of Green-Wood
Wednesday, July 3: Discover Green-Wood
Wednesday, July 10: The Far Side of Green-Wood
Sunday, July 14: Hidden Gems of Green-Wood
Wednesday, July 17: Hidden Gems of Green-Wood
Wednesday, July 24: Discover Green-Wood
Sunday, July 28: Discover Green-Wood
Wednesday, July 31: The Far Side of Green-Wood
Wednesday, August 7: Hidden Gems of Green-Wood
Sunday, August 11: The Far Side of Green-Wood
Wednesday, August 14: Discover Green-Wood
Wednesday, August 21: The Far Side of Green-Wood
Sunday, August 25: Hidden Gems of Green-Wood
Wednesday, August 28: Hidden Gems of Green-Wood

Click here for more information on Green-Wood’s rotation of three different tours. Each boasts great views, beautiful monuments throughout, rolling hills, century-old trees and stories of the fascinating persons interred at Green-Wood. Please note: all tours include a visit to Green-Wood’s Historic Chapel and to Battle Hill.

Our Historic Fund trolley tour guides:

Green-Wood’s trolley tour guide Marge Raymond fell in love with Green-Wood Cemetery 25 years ago as a birdwatcher and naturalist. She brings to her tours her enthusiasm and passion for Green-Wood’s famous residents, its history, trees and animals. Marge, a professional singer, has been a volunteer since 2002 with The Green-Wood Historic Fund’s Civil War Project and has helped to staff The Historic Fund’s information and sales cart since its inception. She has been known to break into an occasional song during her tours.

A Brooklyn native, Ruth Edebohls is a licensed New York City tour guide and urban historian with a special enthusiasm for Green-Wood Cemetery. After working for the Brooklyn Center for the Urban Environment as its Coordinator of Urban Tours and as a tour guide for 15 years, Ruth became a tour guide for the Green-Wood Historic Fund several years ago. She has created and led a host of fascinating tours of Green-Wood.

After retiring from many years of teaching, Tom Russell became a volunteer at Green-Wood in 2003, greeting visitors and answering their questions. Tom long has been fascinated with the cemetery’s history, architecture, topography, natural beauty, and the stories of its permanent residents. His greatest interest is Green-Wood’s visitors who come from around the country and the world to see this great place.

$10 for members of The Green-Wood Historic Fund / $15 for non-members. Seating is limited. Reservations strongly recommended.

(Inclement Weather Policy)

Not a Member?

Get a free ticket with a membership at left and purchase additional Member Discount Tickets if desired. Click here for all of our membership levels and information.

Already a Member?

Click the “Enter promotional code here (members, use your ID#)” link in the bottom right corner of the ticket box and enter your ID number to apply your ticket discount. Please note that the Senior, Individual and Student membership levels are limited to only one Member Ticket per event (for additional tickets, please purchase at the regular price).

Questions?

Don’t know your Member ID number? Not sure which ticket or membership type to order? Call 718-210-3080 or email contactus@green-wood.com with any questions.

Details

Date:
May 8, 2013
Time:
1:00pm–3:00pm
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Green-Wood Cemetery
500 25th Street
Brooklyn, NY 11232 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
718-210-3080